Submit your merit badge blue cards here.
Submit your rank advancement here.

To reach our Advancement Chair email 

Advancing in Rank

There are seven progressively challenging ranks in the Boy Scout program: Scout, Tenderfoot,  Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle.  

Advancement at the Boy Scout level is individual to each Scout, and according to his personal goals. Youth and adult leaders do not facilitate “group advancement” as in the Cub Scout program, and each Scout will advance at his own pace. All rank requirements are listed in the back of the handbook.  

From Scout through First Class ranks, the requirements focus on basic Scout skills (camping,  hiking, cooking, first aid, citizenship, fitness, Scout spirit, etc.).  

The higher ranks (Star, Life, Eagle) require active participation (a minimum of 65% in all meetings and activities/campouts over a four- to six-month period), and successful completion of leadership roles (each has a six-month term), service/service hours, and merit badges. 

First-years will begin working on their Scout rank as soon as possible (they can begin reviewing and working on some of the requirements at home) with a goal to complete this rank before summer camp. Their Troop Guides will work closely with them to help them with Scout rank.  Tenderfoot through First Class ranks may be earned within the following 24-36 months by an enthusiastic Scout who attends meetings and outings

The Boy Scout Handbook is the “book of record” for advancements – all signoffs go in the  Handbook.  

The advancement process is:  

*Scoutmaster Conference: 

For lower ranks (Scout through First Class) – the Scoutmaster Conference is conducted by one of the Assistant Scoutmasters. For higher ranks,  the Scoutmaster Conference is scheduled by emailing the Advancement Chair at least one week in advance, and is typically conducted by the Scoutmaster.

**Board of Review (BoR)

There is no BoR for Scout rank. For Tenderfoot through Life ranks, the Scout requests a BoR through the Troop website at least one week in advance. The Eagle BoR is coordinated/scheduled by the Troop and Etowah District. Boards of Review are conducted by at least three committee members. The Scoutmaster,  Assistant Scoutmasters, and parents are not present during a BoR.

Earning Merit Badges

There are 135 merit badges available for Scouts to explore interests, hobbies, and future careers. At the Star, Life, and Eagle ranks there are requirements for earning “Eagle-required”  and other (Scout’s choice) merit badges: 

Star: Six merit badges, four of which must be Eagle-required. 

Life: Five more merit badges, three of which must be Eagle-required. 

Eagle: Ten more merit badges, six of which must be Eagle-required. 

The merit badge process: 

*The blue card is the record-keeping mechanism for the merit badge; it is mandatory and the responsibility of each Scout to keep, maintain, and submit for achievement. If the Scout loses the blue card, he may need to start the merit badge again from the beginning. 

Scouts will typically earn 3-6 merit badges during Summer Camp, and there are other “merit badge college” opportunities throughout the year, offered by Troop 144 as well as other local and regional Troops. 

Guide to Advancement

All Scout advancement policies and procedures are outlined in the Guide to Advancement.

If you have a question, contact the Advancement Chair.